Wednesday, June 21, 2006

Metadata Aggregation

Carl Lagoze, Tim Cornwell, Naomi Dushay, Dean Eckstrom, Dean Krafft and John Saylor have won the $1,000 award sponsored by the American Computer Manufacturer's Association Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) for their paper Metadata Aggregation and "Automated Digital Libraries": A Retrospective on the NSDL Experience.
Over three years ago, the Core Integration team of the National Science Digital Library (NSDL) implemented a digital library based on metadata aggregation using Dublin Core and OAIPMH. The initial expectation was that such low-barrier technologies would be relatively easy to automate and administer. While this architectural choice permitted rapid deployment of a production NSDL, our three years of experience have contradicted our original expectations of easy automation and low people cost. We have learned that alleged "low-barrier" standards are often harder to deploy than expected. In this paper we report on this experience and comment on the general cost, the functionality, and the ultimate effectiveness of this architecture.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

In the confusing world of modern acronyms sometimes the actual name of an organization is misrepresented. The JCDL Vannevar Bush Best Paper Award is sponsored by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).