Tuesday, June 08, 2010

New Possibilities in Cooperative Cataloging?

ALCTS is holding an e-forum on new trends in sharing cataloging data.
*New Possibilities in Cooperative Cataloging?*
June 15-16, 2010
E-forum starts at 10 AM Eastern, 9 AM Central, 8 AM Mountain, and 7 AM Pacific time and runs until 6 PM Eastern, 5 PM Central, 4 PM Mountain, and 3 PM Pacific time each day.
Note the later start time

Moderated by: Rebecca L. Mugridge, Pennsylvania State University Libraries, and Michele Seikel, Oklahoma State University Library

Libraries have been happy to share metadata for decades, via OCLC. But what are new ways to expand our data-sharing activities, and thus our cataloging? Today, libraries are putting up open source catalogs and using Dublin Core, MODS, MADS, and ONIX to place their records on the Web and bring them to a much larger audience. This e-forum will explore cutting edge ideas about cooperative cataloging, from record structure alternatives for MARC to new ways of cooperating in sharing metadata. Join us for a discussion about how to make our collections and the records that describe them more accessible to the world than ever before....

What is an e-forum?

An ALCTS e-forum provides an opportunity for librarians to discuss matters of interest, led by a moderator, through the e-forum discussion list. The e-forum discussion list works like an email listserv: register your email address with the list, and then you will receive messages and communicate with other participants through an email discussion. Most e-forums last two to three days. Registration is necessary to participate, but it's free. See a list of upcoming e-forums at: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/confevents/upcoming/e-forum/index.cfm

To register:

Instructions for registration are available at: http://bit.ly/eforuminfo. Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the email list. Participation is free and open to anyone.

No comments: