Friday, January 06, 2012

Cataloging Webinar

The Incredible Shrinking Cataloging Department: How to Do More with Less

January 11-12, 2012

Hosted by Xiaoli Li and Wade Wyckoff

Please join us for an e-forum discussion. It’s free and open to everyone!
Registration information is at the end of the message.

Each day, sessions begin and end at:

Pacific: 6am – 4pm
Mountain: 7am – 5pm
Central: 8am – 6 pm
Eastern: 9am – 7pm


With the current economic downturn, many cataloging departments have experienced or are facing staff reductions. With fewer catalogers around to process materials, those departments have to come up with ways to deal with the situation. Some have struggled while others have been more successful. Some have even managed to do more with less.

This e-Forum will be an open discussion about options, choices, strategies used in various cataloging departments. Please be prepared to share your own ideas and solutions. We are hoping we all will have a great and productive year ahead with the collective wisdom offered through this forum. The topics to be covered include:
  • Outsourcing options
  • Cooperative cataloging exchanges between libraries
  • Managing foreign language materials
  • Improving efficiencies in cataloging workflow
  • Stopping tasks that are less value-added
Xiaoli Li is the Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services Department at the University of California, Davis General Library. Her department has had an approximately 20% reduction in staffing since 2008 when the department was formed as a result of the reorganization of technical services at Davis.

Wade Wyckoff joined McMaster University Library in 2006, where he is currently Associate University Librarian, Collections. Previously, he held appointments as Cataloguing Policy Librarian and Collection Services Librarian with the University Library. Before coming to Mac, Wade was an Archivist with the U.S. Navy’s History and Heritage Command. He holds a B.A. and M.A. in History and an M.L.S., all from Indiana University.

*What is an e-forum?*

An ALCTS e-forum provides an opportunity for librarians to discuss matters of interest, led by a moderator, through the e-forum discussion list. The e-forum discussion list works like an email listserv: register your email address with the list, and then you will receive messages and communicate with other participants through an email discussion. Most e-forums last two to three days. Registration is necessary to participate, but it's free. See a list of upcoming e-forums at:

*To register:*

Instructions for registration are available at: Once you have registered for one e-forum, you do not need to register again, unless you choose to leave the email list. Participation is free and open to anyone.

Taken from the email announcement.

No comments: