Wednesday, December 09, 2009

Texas Librarians

Each year the Texas Library Association recognizes contributions and excellence in our profession through the TLA Awards. TLA depends on its members to identify those individuals, organizations, and projects most worthy of recognition for having advanced the cause of Texas Libraries.

The 2010 Awards include:

  • Librarian of the Year Award Recognizes extraordinary leadership or service within the library community within the past 12-18 months.
  • Distinguished Service Award Recognizes outstanding and continuing service in one or more areas of the library profession.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Recognizes an exemplary career in librarianship.
  • Outstanding Services to Libraries Award Given to an individual or to an organization in recognition of outstanding lay advocacy.
  • Wayne Williams Library Project of the Year Award Recognizes a project that exemplifies the highest levels of achievement, professional standards, and inspiration to other libraries.
  • Libraries Change Communities Award Given to a collaborative community effort that recognizes positive achievements and promotes outstanding library based initiatives in Texas.
  • Benefactor(s) Award Recognizes substantial donations.
Complete information about each award and the nomination procedure is available online. Submitting a nomination is not difficult! Nominations are made entirely online and are open from September 15, 2009 to January 15, 2010. For additional information about submitting nominations, please contact the Awards Committee Chair, Sue Compton, at 972-874-6151 or via email at

Monday, December 07, 2009


Is anyone using Twitter to distribute cataloging information? I've found a list of catalogers on Twitter, but most are not using it mainly as a way to get news out.